The Copper Gauntlet by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

Published by Scholastic Press 

Summary: Callum Hunt is getting ready to go back to school for his second year at the Magesterium, when he makes a disturbing discovery: his father, Alistair, has a secret basement room where it looks like he’s getting ready to perform potentially fatal experiments on both Call and his wolf, Havoc. Call escapes to his friend Tamara’s mansion, where he meets up with other magicians and learns about a powerful copper gauntlet that has been stolen from the Magesterium.  When the kids return to school, Call learns that Alistair is a leading suspect in the theft and, against his better judgement, decides that he must try to find his father and warn him about the accusations made against him.  Tamara, Aaron, and Jasper join Call on his quest, which ends, as these quests so often do, in a huge showdown between the forces of good and evil.  The Enemy of Death seems to have been defeated, but there is just enough doubt around that issue to pave the way for book three of the Magisterium series.  Grades 4-7.

Pros:  Fans of Harry Potter and Rick Riordan will be delighted with this series about a boy discovering his magical powers at a school for magicians.  The magical world is well-crafted and the action is non-stop.

Cons:  The great majority of the story took place outside the Magisterium, taking away the fun element of a magic school.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s